top of page
gbv%20lawyers_edited.png

BRYAN O'GALLAGHER APPOINTED HONORARY CONSUL OF IRELAND FOR QUEBEC

Bryan O'Gallagher Irish Consul Quebec.jpeg

The appointment was highlighted at a reception held in Montreal on Thursday, March 14, 2024, in the presence of representatives from the government of Ireland and leaders from Quebecois and Irish businesses. From left to right: Micheál Martin, Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs of Ireland; Bryan O'Gallagher, Honorary Consul of Ireland for Quebec; Eamonn KcKee, Ambassador of Ireland to Canada.

Quebec, Friday March 15 2024

For the first time, Ireland’s Honorary Consul for Quebec is seated in the Capitale-Nationale

GBV Avocats is pleased to announce that Mr. Bryan O’Gallagher has been appointed Honorary Consul for Quebec by the Government of the Republic of Ireland. The Tánaiste (Deputy Prime Minister) and Minister for Foreign Affairs of Ireland, Micheál Martin, confirmed this appointment during an official visit to Canada marking the traditional St. Patrick's Day festivities.

Mr. Bryan O’Gallagher

A proud Irish-Quebecer, Mr. O’Gallagher joined GBV Avocats in 2007. Deeply involved in Quebec City’s English-speaking community, Bryan O’Gallagher currently serves as President of the Board of Governors of the Jeffery-Hale Saint-Brigid's Hospital. He also chaired the Saint-Brigid's Home and Jeffery-Hale foundations. Since 2010, Mr. O’Gallagher has been active on the board of directors of Irish Heritage Quebec/Héritage irlandais Québec, a historical society which promotes the importance of the Irish role in Quebec society over the past two hundred years.

Consul’s role

In his role as Honorary Consul, Mr. O’Gallagher will assist the Embassy of Ireland in providing consular services to Irish citizens in Quebec. He will also support the activities of community organizations within the Irish community. Finally, he will provide local assistance to the authorities and agencies of the Government of Ireland in their efforts to enhance economic, commercial, and cultural relations with Quebec and Quebecers.

Ireland-Canada Relationship

Ireland is a significant economic partner of Canada. In 2022, bilateral trade flows in goods and services between the two countries reached $15 billion CAD. There are over 400 Irish companies in Canada, employing approximately 6,000 people. The 75 Canadian companies present in Ireland count on a workforce of some 15,000 employees.

In addition to these economic ties, Ireland and Quebec are closely linked by very strong family, heritage, and cultural relations.

 

The GBV team extends its heartfelt congratulations to Me O'Gallagher on this distinguished honor and expresses its unwavering support in his new role.

The Consulate of Ireland will be located at 2960 Laurier Boulevard, Suite 500, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 4S1, at the offices of GBV Avocats in the Capitale-Nationale region of Quebec.

 

bottom of page

top of page
gbv%20avocats_edited.png

BRYAN O'GALLAGHER NOMMÉ CONSUL HONORAIRE D'IRLANDE POUR LE QUÉBEC

Bryan O'Gallagher Irish Consul Quebec.jpeg

La nomination a été soulignée lors d'une réception tenue à Montréal le jeudi 14 mars 2024 en présence des représentants du gouvernement de l'Irlande et des dirigeants d'entreprises québécoises et irlandaises. Gauche à droite: Micheál Martin, Tánaiste et ministre des Affaires étrangères de l'Irlande, Bryan O'Gallagher, Consul honoraire d'Irlande pour le Québec, Eamonn KcKee, ambassadeur de l'Irlande au Canada

Québec, le vendredi 15 mars 2024

 

Pour la première fois dans la Capitale-Nationale, un Consul honoraire d’Irlande pour le Québec.

GBV avocats a le plaisir d’annoncer que Me Bryan O’Gallagher a été nommé au poste prestigieux de Consul honoraire pour le Québec par le gouvernement de la République d’Irlande. Le Tánaiste (Vice-premier ministre) et ministre des Affaires étrangères de I’Irlande, Micheál Martin, a confirmé cette nomination lors d’une visite officielle au Canada organisée autour des traditionnelles fêtes de la Saint-Patrick.

Me Bryan O’Gallagher

Irlando-québécois très fier de ses origines, Me O’Gallagher s’est joint à GBV Avocats en 2007. Très impliqué dans la communauté d’expression anglaise de la région de Québec, Bryan O’Gallagher est actuellement président du Bureau des gouverneurs de l’Hôpital Jeffery-Hale Saint-Brigid’s. Il a aussi présidé les fondations Saint-Brigid’s Home et Jeffery-Hale. Depuis 2010, Me O’Gallagher est actif au sein du conseil d’administration de la société historique Héritage irlandais Québec/Irish Heritage Québec, une organisation qui fait connaître l’importance du rôle des Irlandais dans la société québécoise depuis les deux cents dernières années

Rôle du Consul

Dans son rôle de Consul honoraire, Me O’Gallagher sera appelé à assister l’ambassade d’Irlande dans les interventions consulaires au bénéfice des citoyens irlandais se trouvant au Québec. Il supportera les activités des organismes communautaires de la communauté d’origine irlandaise. Finalement, il apportera son soutien aux autorités et organismes du gouvernement de l’Irlande dans leurs actions visant la croissance des relations économiques, commerciales et culturelles avec le Québec et les Québécois.

Relation Irlande-Canada

L’Irlande est un partenaire économique significatif du Canada. En 2022, les flux commerciaux bilatéraux en biens et services entre les deux pays ont atteint les 15 milliards de dollars CAD. Il y a plus de 400 entreprises irlandaises au Canada qui emploient environ 6 000 personnes. Quant à elles, les 75 sociétés canadiennes, présentes en Irlande, comptent sur plus de 15 000 employés. En plus de ces liens économiques, l’Irlande et le Québec sont étroitement liés par de fortes relations familiales, patrimoniales et culturelles.

 

L’Équipe GBV adresse ses plus sincères félicitations à Me O’Gallagher pour cet illustre honneur et lui exprime son plein soutien dans l'exercice de ses nouvelles responsabilités.

Le Consulat de l’Irlande sera situé au 2960, boulevard Laurier, bureau 500, Québec (Québec) G1V 4S1, dans les bureaux de GBV avocats dans la Capitale-Nationale du Québec.

bottom of page